Migrate Joomla to WordPress – Best!

Convert Joomla to WordPress

WoW!

This is the most used migration around the WEB.

Why??? Because there are tons of Joomla site administrators who would like to leave Joomla and use most popular CMS called WordPress 🙂 So how to do this migration and who can help us? Let’s start.

I’m calling google……..

Oh my god sooo many free plugins, scripts, online automatic tools and advices! Let’s understand why choose free plugins, scripts and online automatic tools and why not.

Why should I use them?

  1. If I web programming Guru, I  don’t need complete migration and I just need few things like Post’s titles and raw content without any optimization and support. Yeah! I’ll fix anything my self … !!!
  2. Because those are free! And that’s it 😀 😀 😀 😀
  3. hmmm nothing else …

Why should not I use them?

  1. Each Joomla site is a unique, each Joomla site has its own site structure, components, plugins, modules, sitethree,  template, layout, style…. So THAT”S IMPOSSIBLE to predict so many differences and create one single script or tool for all Joomla sites. Joomla to WordPress should not be done using a script or an automatic tool which have been created for all sites, because those scripts are adapted on some example of Joomla site or just for simple and default joomla installation. I’ve tried all available scripts and online automatic tools, and I’ve got maximum 30%-50% of my site content, I even don’t talking about my Joomla site extensions and Template, these are not supported at all!. If you want to get superb result you should use a script which has been created exactly for your Joomla site and customized for your needs!
  2. No Support! Nothing is supported, all bla bla texts documentations are not adapted with my site and those don’t help. If you use online migration tool, they may help you a bit to fix standard issues such as Post Content Image Sources are not correct or some posts are not attached to correct Categories and that’s it.
  3. You may faced with most popular problem called: “Oh My God! My Site is down!!!! Anybody please help me!”. This will be terrible, and you’ll have to pay someone to fix anything.
  4. All available scripts, plugins and online automatic tools are not able to migrate Joomla components, plugins, modules, template and navigation. So those can’t help you to do a complete conversion. Those results will always be incomplete and bugy!

What do people recommend? And what I’ve already tested and used?

I started with google and opened the first result:

2013-06-25_1245

It goes to http://wordpress.org/support/topic/convert-joomla-to-wordpress

2013-06-25_1247 This guys are talking about complete migration of Joomla serious site to WordPress. Someone recommends gConverter. Why? Who these people? What service is gConverter?

First would like to say, I think the best way to do Joomla to WordPress conversion is rent some professional developer or just ask some professional service like gConverter. BUT! I need to make sure a freelancer or a service is good and have real recommendations and feedback. I need make sure they have good experiance and have already done such a hard work.

That would be very hard with a freelancer, but it’s easy with USA registered services like the gConverter. I used the URL from this WordPress Support topic and opened this page http://gconverter.com/joomla-to-wordpress/.

Looks good! They offers anything! They have three types of conversion services: Content, Theme and Full. If you just need to migrate your site content with any extension you can request for only Database conversion quote, if you need to convert your Joomla theme and create a identical the same WordPress theme you can request for a Theme conversion quote, but if you need a complete conversion with anything you can request for FULL conversion quote. That’s nice!

Ok, let’s check this service and make sure these guys are rock 🙂

Checking Testimonials….. http://gconverter.com/testimonials/

Yes, that’s the most impressive Testimonials I’ve seen. Why???? Because all Testimonials are located on third party “Customer Review and Feedback” communities and services, such as:

partner-getsatisfaction customer-lobby facebook-logo

I have no doubt, all feedback are verified and real. And all are positive with a lot of recommendations.

Finally I read the “Why gConverter?” Section on the home page http://gconverter.com/ . I liked this one:

No Risk! 100% Satisfaction Guarantee!
Your request will be supported and completed within about 24-48 hours. Our refund policy is very unusual as it allows you to try our service without any financial risk. We do not request any payment from you until your site has been successfully converted. Therefore, if you don’t like the results and you provide us with valid reasons, then you don’t pay.

Ok, these guys are really good, and I tried their service! All went smoothly, they converted anything (content, extensions, theme), the only missing thing was my comments. I was using  Komento Joomla extensions on my site and they missed that. Then I let them know about this issue and they converted those within few hours. So I got identical WordPress site for my client. This article is my thanks to them!

Thank you for reading this post and hope you see, that the best way to get the best result is the spending of some money and don’t use any scripts, plugins and online tools.

P.S. Sorry for my English 😉

Leave a comment